Volume 61 No. 9 September 2015

Editor’s Notes

The ANA convention was fun. Tiring, but fun. This year’s Honorary Host Chairman, Harlan J. Berk, received his 50-year membership recognition at the convention. A listing of all CCC members who won any Exhibit Award appears later in this issue.

It will be four years until the ANA summer convention returns here, but ILNA meets in Tinley Park this month, and Central States will be in Schaumburg next April. And PCDA, CPMX, and CICF will be in Rosemont in between, for those looking for multi-day shows.

Paul Hybert, editor

Minutes of the 1160th Meeting

The 1160th meeting of the Chicago Coin Club was held August 15, 2015 in conjunction with the American Numismatic Association Anniversary Convention at the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center, Rosemont, IL. President Elliott Krieter called the meeting to order at 1:15 PM with an attendance of 51 members and guests.

A motion was passed to adopt an abbreviated agenda.

The Treasurer announced that the Club’s 2015 ANA Convention medal was on sale at $20. Of the custom made acrylic frame holding all four 2011, ’13, ’14, & ’15 medals, only two remained for sale at $100 each.

The application of Raymond Dagenais received second reading and a motion was passed admitting him into the Club. The applications of Rick Ewing and Eric Delgadillo received first reading.

First V.P. Richard Lipman introduced the featured speaker, Dennis Tucker from Whitman Publishing, who gave the presentation 2016 Guide Book of United States Coins, Deluxe Edition. Following a number of questions, Rich presented Dennis with an ANA Educational Certificate and an engraved Club medal on a neck ribbon. In the raffle drawing, members Kurt Hyde and Harold Eckhardt each won a copy of the Deluxe Guide Book.

A serially numbered souvenir card from the 1893 World’s Columbian Exposition showing 18th century musician George Frideric Handel was distributed to everyone in attendance.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:51 PM.

Respectfully Submitted,
Carl Wolf, Secretary

Current Advertisers

CSNS Convention Chicago Coin Company
PCDA Convention Harlan J. Berk, Ltd.

Thank You for Volunteering

Volunteers, Thank you for your work as a volunteer during the ANA Convention.

This was the 10th time I served as a Committee Chairman at an ANA Convention. Working with your group was easy, rewarding, and a pleasure. Praise of your dedicated work continues to arrive.

I also need to add…

Should the need arise, it would be an honor to work with you again.


Carl Wolf, Volunteer Chairman
2015 ANA Convention

CCC Members Won Awards for Exhibits

At the recent ANA convention, visitors who made their way to the Collector Exhibits Area were treated to many exhibits covering a wide range of material. Refresh your memory at the online Exhibit Guide.

Members of the Chicago Coin Club entered competitive exhibits, so you might have spotted items that had appeared at a Show & Tell session at one of our meetings. Here is a list of CCC members who won an exhibiting award:

That totals to 17 member exhibits that won an award, out of the 66 exhibits on view. Some member exhibits did not win an award, and some exhibits were in the non-competitive category. This year, exhibits were entered in 18 competitive classes, and up to three exhibits in a class can win a ribbon.

Although not exhibiting this year, member Brett Irick has served as an exhibits judge for many years. This year, he was awarded the Joseph A. Boling Award for Judging Excellence.

Our 1161st Meeting

Date:September 9, 2015
Time:6:45 PM
Location:Downtown Chicago
At the Chicago Bar Association, 321 S. Plymouth Court, 3rd floor meeting room. Please remember the security measures at our meeting building: everyone must show their photo-ID and register at the guard’s desk. Nearby parking: South Loop Self Park, 318 South Federal Street; that is two short blocks west of our meeting site. Note: Their typical rate of $33 is reduced to $9 if you eat at the Plymouth Restaurant, 327 S. Plymouth Court (next to our meeting site at the CBA) — show the restaurant your parking ticket, and ask for a parking voucher. The restaurant offers standard sandwiches, burgers, and salads for members who want to meet for dinner. Members start arriving at 5pm.
Featured Program:
We expect a range of reports from the ANA convention, followed by many interesting items at the Show & Tell. What will you bring?

Important Dates

Unless stated otherwise, our regular monthly CCC Meeting is in downtown Chicago on the second Wednesday of the month; the starting time is 6:45PM.

September 9 CCC Meeting - Featured Program - Extended convention reports and Show & Tell
September 10-12 ILNA 56th Annual Coin & Currency Show at the Holiday Inn-Tinley Park Convention Center, 18451 Convention Center Road, Tinley Park, IL 60477. Details, including hours and events, is available at
October 14 CCC Meeting - Featured Speaker - to be announced
November 11 CCC Meeting - Club Auction - no featured speaker
November 20-21 PCDA National Currency and Coin Convention at the Crown Plaza Chicago O’Hare, 5440 North River Road, Rosemont, IL. Admission is $5 for Friday through Saturday. Details at
November 21 CCC Meeting - 1pm at the PCDA National Currency and Coin Convention, which is held at the Crown Plaza Chicago O’Hare, 5440 North River Road, Rosemont, IL. No admission charge for our meeting.
Featured Speaker - to be announced
November 22 Numismatic Education Symposium - 9:30AM-3:30PM at the PCDA National Currency and Coin Convention, which is held at the Crown Plaza Chicago O’Hare, 5440 North River Road, Rosemont, IL.
Featured Speakers - to be announced.
Four speakers will present, and a continental breakfast and light lunch is included in the admission charge ($20 for CSNS members, $30 for all others).
December 9 CCC Meeting - Annual Banquet - Featured Speaker - to be announced

Chatter Matter

All correspondence pertaining to Club matters should be addressed to the Secretary and mailed to:
P.O. Box 2301

Club Officers

Elected positions (two-year terms):
Elliott Krieter- President
Richard Lipman- First Vice President
Marc Stackler- Second Vice President
William Burd- Archivist
Directors:Steve Ambos
Eugene Freeman
Dale Lukanich
Mark Wieclaw
Appointed positions:
Jeffrey Rosinia- Immediate Past President
Carl Wolf- Secretary
Steve Zitowsky- Treasurer
Paul Hybert- Chatter Editor, webmaster
Robert Feiler- ANA Club Representative

Contacting Your Editor / Chatter Delivery Option

The print version of the Chatter is simply a printout of the Chatter web page, with a little cutting and pasting to fill out each print page. The web page is available before the Chatter is mailed.
If you would like to receive an email link to the latest issue instead of a mailed print copy, send an email to You can resume receiving a mailed print copy at any time, just by sending another email.

Sharing this complete Chatter issue with a friend is simple. Just let them scan this code into their smartphone!